Reading Blogs

25 Aug

I like to read. I never enjoyed it as a kid but I’ve grown out of my immature hatred of literature. For some reason or other, I prefer to read online articles and blogs instead of full books. I read books of course, but I tend to take a longer while than most people I know. I think that’s another thing I will eventually grow out of — resistance to constant book reading.

I follow lots of blogs on the internet, all of which are written either by Christian authors, pastors or just people with a God-given gift of blogging. I pray that these blogs would help me in my pursuit to be like Christ.

Here are some of my favorite blogs and posts:

One of my favorite Christian authors, and authors in general, is Donald Miller. He is a best selling author of five great books: A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, Blue Like Jazz, Father Fiction, Searching for God Knows What and Through Painted Deserts. I’ve only read Blue Like Jazz but I plan to buy and eat the rest up in no time. When you read Don’s work, it’s almost like he’s right there next to you telling you the story. His writing has an intimate aspect to it, like you’re best of friends. I’ve never read anything like it before. Miller has already helped me cure my “phobia” of books and I hope he never stops writing. His blog is a great everyday read. I visit his site every night excited to read his latest post. I encourage you to check it out for yourself.

Kevin DeYoung is a wonderful blogger. His attempt to add to C.S. Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters is a great read and helps us see the ways the devil brings us away from Christianity, notably by leading us to dismiss the importance of churches and fellowship with believers. I encourage you to read it here.

Thabiti Anyabile is one of the greatest preachers I’ve ever heard. I’m pretty sure I’d put him in my top three along with Piper and Mahaney. He recently posted two great videos on his blog. They’re pretty cool to watch.

Albert Mohler is a renown Christian preacher and scholar. He is also the president of Southern Baptist Theological Serminary and he helped found “Together for the Gospel” along with Ligon Duncan, Mark Dever and C.J. Mahaney. His article on college professors and college students is powerful and helpful for any teenager who is attending or will attend University. Being a student myself, I learned a lot from his post. Read it yourself and send it to students you know.

That’s it for now.

Did I bore you? I hope not.

2 Responses to “Reading Blogs”

  1. Steve240 August 26, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    You might find the following blogs of interest about C.J. Mahaney and the group he leads, Sovereign Grace Ministries:

    http://www.sgmsurvivors.com
    http://www.sgmrefuge.com

    They tell another side. Hope this helps.

    • Stephen Enjaian October 3, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

      I commend your pursuit of knowledge. Specifically, I have also found Thabiti Anyabwile to be a compelling writer.

      I have recently started a blog with the purpose of challenging Christians to make their faith work in practical ways instead of being passive consumers of religious information. If you’re interested, you can read it at http://www.activefaith.wordpress.com. One post was a practical and positive way that Christians can respond to the Qur’an burning story of a few weeks ago.

      I am working on a book review to be posted soon on Thabiti’s new book, The Gospel for Muslims: an Encouragement to Share Christ with Confidence.

      Grace to you.

Leave a Reply

