“Very Early in the Morning”

10 Jul

Mark 1:35-38 Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. Simon and his companions went to look for him, and when they found him, they exclaimed: “Everyone is looking for you!” Jesus replied, “Let us go somewhere else—to the nearby villages—so I can preach there also. That is why I have come.”

The more I think of it, I realize that if I don’t spend time in prayer and in the word right when I wake up in the morning, I spend the day not giving much glory to God. I’m not exactly what you would call a “morning person”. I prefer late night to early morning. I even sometimes convince myself that reading the bible at night before I go to bed is better than early in the morning. Maybe you do the same.

The bible is inspired by God according to 2 Timothy 3:16. That means that the writer of the gospel of Mark was inspired by God and that there’s a reason why this book includes a few verses where Jesus wakes up early in the morning, goes to a place of solitude and prays.

Allow me to apologize to everyone who likes to read the bible and pray before going to bed as opposed to reading and praying in the morning. I’m in the same boat and I’m sorry if I offend you, but I think we have it wrong.

Jesus prayed in the morning. More than that, he got up while it was still dark and went to pray. Almost no one wakes up regularly when it’s still dark, right? When we read on, we see that his disciples came to him and told him that people were looking for Jesus. This means that Jesus started praying when it was still dark and nobody was up and finished praying when everyone was already awake. Wouldn’t that be like today’s 5am to 7am? Jesus prayed for around two hours! If a prefect Jesus needs to pray for two hours, how many hours should we pray in the morning?

When we pray in the morning, we prepare our minds and our hearts for the spiritual battle of that day. We also show that, by making prayer and meditation on God’s word the first thing we do when we wake up, God is the number one priority in our lives.

So, to those who do read and pray in the morning, never quit. To the rest of us (including myself) who prefer reading and praying at night, I think we need to change our habits. Don’t you agree?

One Response to ““Very Early in the Morning””

  1. Mike M February 11, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    I LOVE this. Thank you so much for sharing. As I was thinking about this today I google searched for this and your post came right up. I thank God that He provided this for us to read. As we know, God’s word is God breathed, but I believe that He also uses us as vessels for His work to be done.

    Jesus woke up early to pray… 5am-7am! I know he must have done this often.. very often, and without an alarm clock! No that’s something :)

    Thank you again for this refreshing perspective. God Bless you!

    Mike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

