Don’t Waste Your Studies

6 Dec

This week’s post is mainly for Christian students. Others can still profit from this post, but my intention is to challenge my fellow believing classmates.

One of the goals in my Christian life is to memorize scripture regularly so that I can actually meditate on it day and night, as Psalm 1 tells us. I must admit though that I have failed to continue this newly adopted good habit while caught up in all the stress of schoolwork. I sometimes feel as if the pressure from school, knowing that our grades will impact our future here on earth, distorts Christian students’ minds. It is not easy to cope with this overwhelming stress, but we must persevere, both for our future on earth and for Christ’s glory.

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31

“And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” Colossians 3:17

Our studies and schoolwork enters into the category of things we must do for His glory. I am right now in an exam period and I am more stressed out than I have ever been, but through my stress, I am reminded of how much I need God by my side in these few weeks to come. Stress is from God and it is a blessing in disguise. God uses it to show us that we cannot get through our every day lives with our ever so limited human capacity to counter the world’s distractions. Stress makes us think of one of the most encouraging and comforting passages in God’s word.

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
Matthew 11:28-30

Do you remember the story when Jesus quiets the storm? Jesus is in the boat sleeping and the disciples wake him up when they see that they are in the middle of a storm in open sea. Jesus’ reply to the disciples is “You of little faith. Why are you so afraid?” (Matthew 8:26). The story challenges us to have faith and go to Jesus for help and comfort before the storm comes. That way, we avoid stress by going to Him and finding rest for our souls. This is something to keep in mind every moment of our lives, and especially during our study sessions.

So I challenge you today. The next time you hit the books for an exam, remember to go to Him first and foremost so that you may be relieved from your stress. Spend some time in devotion before studying. Read God’s word for 5, 10, 30 minutes, or more if you want. Get on your knees and pray to the Almighty and ask for guidance in your studies so that you would not waste your schoolwork, but it would be used for Christ’s glorification.

Leave a Reply

