To Know Him

24 Oct

“And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent” – John 17:3, Jesus Christ.

To know thee, the One True LORD God. Not just simply to have faith or to believe in Him but to know Him (or to grasp; to comprehend; to fathom; to understand; to feel something about the nature of God– and thus to conform yourselves to that nature). Webster dictionary describes “to know” this way: “Be cognizant or aware of a fact or a specific piece of information; possess knowledge or information about (something); be aware of the truth of something; have a belief or faith in something; regard as true beyond any doubt”. To know can also be referred as to have such an intimacy with someone else that it stands for sexual desire (or intercourse).

But since the last few years of human history and typically of what is called Christendom in America, Christianity has been reduced to nothing more than a mental (or an intellectual) accent. The glorious Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ has been compromised and thus, has been lost. Many false doctrines that came out from the evangelical sphere have done massive damage in our land and even in some other countries where it has been sent.

To know God through the person of Jesus Christ, as He is, is the only Way, Truth and life, to the Father, is to have everlasting life in Christ. To know Him is not merely some sort of intellectual desire where you just know and that’s all, because in Hosea 4:6, God says,

“My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest to me: seeing thou hast forgotten the law of thy God, I will also forget thy children.”

God’s people and priests are being cut off (or destroyed) due to a lack of knowledge (or vision). They had enough of knowledge and yet, they were not willing to submit themselves to God. They just did not care about Him. Similarly, many people today make shipwreck because they have this mentality that you will be pretty much okay if your doctrine is right and stands strong. That of course, it is not the case. Leonard Ravenhill says:

“Your doctrine can be as straight as a gun barrel—and just as empty!”
“You can have all of your doctrines right—yet still not have the presence of God.”

Moreover, to know God is the only cause and end of all things. Everything that has been created in heaven and on earth, comparing to the infinite value and worth of God is simply mind blowing. Even our supposed good works are regarded as dung compared to the beauty of God in Christ.

In the Old Testament, the Lord says that He will make a different work than what He did in the time of Moses. God says in Jeremiah 32:37-42:

“Behold, I WILL gather them out of all countries, whither I have driven them in mine anger, and in my fury, and in great wrath; and I WILL bring them again unto this place, and I WILL cause them to dwell safely:
And they shall be my people, and I WILL be their God:
And I WILL give them one heart, and one way, that they may fear me for ever, for the good of them, and of their children after them:
And I WILL make an everlasting covenant with them, that I WILL not turn away from them, to do them good; but I WILL put my fear in their hearts, that they shall not depart from me.
Yea, I WILL rejoice over them to do them good, and I WILL plant them in this land assuredly with my whole heart and with my whole soul.
For thus saith the LORD; Like as I have brought all this great evil upon this people, so will I bring upon them all the good that I HAVE PROMISED them.”

In Ezekiel 36:24-32, He says:

“For I WILL take you from among the heathen, and gather you out of all countries, and [I] WILL bring you into your own land.
Then WILL I sprinkle clean water upon you, and ye shall be clean: from all your filthiness, and from all your idols, WILL I cleanse you.
A new heart also WILL I give you, and a new spirit WILL I put within you: and I WILL take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I WILL give you a heart of flesh.
And I WILL put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them.
And ye shall dwell in the land that I gave to your fathers; and ye shall be my people, and I WILL be your God.
I WILL also save you from all your uncleanness: and I WILL call for the corn, and [I] WILL increase it, and lay no famine upon you.
And I WILL multiply the fruit of the tree, and the increase of the field, that ye shall receive no more reproach of famine among the heathen.
Then shall ye remember your own evil ways, and your doings that were not good, and shall loathe yourselves in your own sight for your iniquities and for your abominations.
Not for your sakes do I this, saith the Lord GOD, be it known unto you: be ashamed and confounded for your own ways, O house of Israel.”

In both of those texts, we see God’s heart and supernatural power in making for Himself a people separated unto Himself; a people after His Holy Name. Leonard Ravenhill says it this way:

“The wonder of the grace of God is that God can take an unholy man out of an unholy world and make that man holy and put him back into an unholy world and keep him holy!”

Also, from the account of Exodus throughout the whole book to Revelation, there is this marching thing (or promise), He says, “Ye shall be my people, and I will be your God.” Ye shall be my people (or my children; my priests; my lovely bride; the Church of Jesus Christ; or New Testament’s Israel), and I will be your God (or your Husband; your Heavenly Father; your King and Lord).

Now let’s put something in perspective. Imagine a beautiful young woman and a handsome young man in a field. They both know each other already for a few years now and he is about to ask her to marry him. He kneels before her asking, by showing the ring, if she would forever be with him. What should the young girl response be? A big “YES, I DO!” or that one that shows a face that corresponds to what he is offering is simply not enough?

This is something to think about because the majority of Christians’ lives, since their first supposed conversion until now, demonstrate that the shedding of Christ’s precious blood was simply not enough and the world has more to offer. Addressing such issues is quite offending to a generation that prefers the very sin(s) that has nailed our Lord Jesus Christ to the cross.

Enough said.

Consider Charles Hudson Spurgeon who said:

“We do not repent in order to be saved, but we repent because we are saved. We do not loathe sin, and therefore hope to be saved, but, because we are saved, we therefore loathe sin and turn altogether from it.”

by Patryk Jaskula

Leave a Reply

